1905 Wayback Team

1905 Wayback Team

History of Foundation 110 yrs in 2013

the beginning…..

In 1903, the fast growing sport of ‘Aussie Rules’ came to Port Lincoln. Young men from around the area were encouraged by their elders to play the game, and local identities Muir McFarlane, Ron Sinclair and Charlie Sage arranged a meeting at the racecourse at Coomunga to arrange a competition.

The first practice was held in the winter of 1903, and after the crops had been sown the first match was held in May 1903.

The match was between the ‘Lincolnites’ who lived in the Port Lincoln township, and the ‘Waybacks’ whose players were drawn from the outlying western and northern areas, or in other words ‘way back over there.’ The team was captained by Muir McFarlane, and Mr S Sage was elected the President with Ron Sinclair the Treasurer. These men can be considered the founders of the Wayback Football Club. Only a few matches were played in 1903, and players in that foundation side included Muir McFarlane, Ron Sinclair, Ken, Hamblay and Mac Hyde, Rue Hage, Fred Hardy, Andrew Wilkinson, Stafford Cavanagh, Charlie, Ross and Tom Sage, Ted Simmons and George Willams.

Little were these men to know, that the club that they quickly formed in 1903, would go on to become the most one of the most successful clubs in the history of South Australian Country football, but the most successful club in the Port Lincoln Football league (29 ‘A’ grade premierships) and would survive to celebrate it’s 100th birthday in 2003. You can only wonder if, over an ale after the first game, the immortal W. Muir McFarlane might have pondered what the men that day had begun.

Wayback Football & Sporting clubrooms

Over the years, the Wayback Football club has provided the platform for such players as Darkie Miller, Barnie Woods, Darcie Harvey, Michael Hegarty and Peter McKenzie (among many others) to showcase their skills, and has nurtured some of the best football talent in South Australia.

In 1958, the club relocated its’ base from a shed at Verran Terrace, to new clubrooms at Windsor Avenue where we still reside. This building was a tribute to the vision and hard work of the management of the time, and are still to this day are the envy of many similar sporting bodies.

In a remarkable achievement for a country football club, Wayback’s celebrated its 100th anniversary during the 2003 season, a season which fittingly saw the club chalk up it’s 30th Senior Premiership.

In recent years the club has been successful in winning the 2005 and 2008 League Premierships, with our Reserves winning back – to – back premierships in 2011 & 2012. We are continually striving to be the best performing club in the Port Lincoln Football League, both on and off the field, something our founders and forefathers would be very proud of. The tradition of this great club continues…

Wayback Football Sporting Club

Wayback Football & Sporting Clubrooms

The Wayback Football Club, the tradition continues…